World YWCA Women Leading Change Awards

Changing Lives, Changing Communities

The Women Leading Change Awards will recognise and pay tribute to some of the least recognised actors in the effort to stamp out this global epidemic – the outstanding women and young women who are championing HIV and AIDS in their communities by demonstrating innovative and effective leadership.


“AIDS is a public health crisis, a human rights crisis, a development crisis and an economic crisis, and today it bears the face of a woman.  While the challenges presented by the crisis are great, we want to make it clear that these challenges are not cause for hopelessness and resignation, but for leadership and action.”  Musimbi Kanyoro, General Secretary, World YWCA

HIV and AIDS is a priority area of work of the World YWCA given the devastating impact the pandemic is having on the lives of women and girls.  We believe that strong leadership by women is needed at all levels.

The awards will celebrate exceptional leadership in the areas of prevention, care and treatment, advocacy and policy making as well as addressing gender inequality, stigma and discrimination. 

Innovative leadership, programme concept and methodologies would be key factors in determining award recipients.


There will be two categories for the Women Leading Change Awards. One award will highlight young women, 30 years and under and the other will highlight women over 30 years of age, both leading change in their communities.  YWCA membership is not a requirement for nomination.

Nomination Guidelines: 

Who is eligible?

Women who provide innovative and effective leadership in programmes relating to HIV and AIDS

Who can nominate women for this award?

Organisations or individuals can submit a nomination for these awards

How will winners be selected?        

An international review panel will consider the nominations and select award recipients. Award winners will be notified by March 1, 2007. Unsuccessful nominations will not be notified.


How to enter? 

Completed nominations forms from the nominator and the nominee must be submitted.

Nomination forms are available on the World YWCA web site (

Applications may be submitted by fax, post or emailed to the World YWCA office


Address: 16 Ancienne Route CH-1218 Grand Saconnex, Geneva, Switzerland

Fax: (41-22) 929 6044, E-mail:

When is the deadline for application?

All completed nominations must be received by December 8, 2006,midnight, GMT.  Any nominations received after this date will not be considered.

Where will award winners be announced?

The Women Leading Change Awards ceremony will be held during the World YWCA International Women’s Summit in Nairobi, Kenya, on July 5, 2007.

Sophie Dilmitis
HIV and AIDS Coordinator
World YWCA
16 Ancienne Route, CH-1218
Grand Saconnex, Geneva, Switzerland
Tel. 41 22 929 60 34  Fax 41 22 929 60 44
The World YWCA is an international volunteer membership movement uniting some 25 million women working in over 100 countries.  Its purpose is to develop the leadership and collective power of women and girls around the world to achieve human rights, health, security, dignity, freedom, justice and peace for all people